Victory

First of all, a little background info. I play hockey at the Junior A level, and am accepted and committed to play at Nichols College in the fall of 2014. Now, my rant.

As the most prestigious and important 4 games of my hockey career approach, I can’t help but observe my counterparts. While I am focused, calm, and intent on accomplishing the goal I set out to achieve at 6 years old of playing Division 1 hockey, my peers are seemingly intent on filling their future with regrets. Here I am on a Saturday evening, writing thoughts aimed at no one in particular (possibly no one at all), in some societally unreasonable hope that I can be anything that I could possibly perceive with hard work. I have chosen to spend my weekend to rest and reach into the depths of my mental clockwork in search of the answers to the challenges that lie ahead of me. Am I wrong for believing that my life has a purpose? Am I wrong for punching the plastic buttons extended out of my computer in solitude? The alternatives are all around me, in fact my roommate and teammate is happily baked playing GTA V with some of his friends back home on the couch right next to me. Is my search for purpose and success in vain? Am I setting myself up for a life of futility with no answers because of the mentality I am building? Or am I simply skipping the immaturity of unpreparedness in the time of the greatest challenges of my life?

It seems I am quite naive and unaware of the repercussions of my actions, as are all of us 21 year olds, but I do believe that I have a purpose. And I also know that I will be more prepared than any of my enemies come game day. My hope is that the Division 1 coaches will see the passion I have put into my sport, and in return will pay my tuition lol.

Sincerely,

The Answer

5 thoughts on “Victory

  1. If you live in the USA or Canada, getting “baked” on anything other than beer or a physician-prescribed drug could lead to trouble with the police state in a few years. The governments in those countries have been tightening the screws for decades. I don’t advise any kind of drug use, particularly if you live in either of those countries.

    > Is my search for purpose and success in vain? Am I setting myself up for a life of futility with no answers because of the mentality I am building? Or am I simply skipping the immaturity of unpreparedness in the time of the greatest challenges of my life?

    Life can be a long process. There might be challenges after college that make all the challenges of your present life seem minor. Or then again, maybe not.

  2. Hey there young man,
    Broadening your young mind by expressing inner thoughts is admirable. You will do well in whatever path you choose. Just know your path will constantly change and the, ‘greatest challenges of your life,’ are just a few of the many more to come. I have two teenagers, one is 16 and the other is 13 and I believe they are deep-thinkers like you, expressive and caring. I also have nephews and nieces that are either preparing to attend or graduating from college. One of my nephews just finished with his Master’s Program. He graduated from Lehigh after having received a full scholarship for wrestling. Another nephew was awarded a 75% scholarship to Boston U. like his sister. All of them possess the same resolve as you. If I could give you a few words of motherly wisdom: Don’t over think things too, too much. Enjoy life’s ride-it’s a roller coaster and a heck of a trip.
    AnnMarie
    new blogger, old mom

    • Thank you so much for the response. It made my day to read this and it’s just the kind of reassurance I think I was looking for! I just get lost sometimes in my focus regarding my future, and what you said means a lot. Turns out we got third in the league championship and I didn’t quite get a division 1 offer, but I’m proud of where I’ve come and thankful for people like you who help me along the way!

      • Okay now, I just read your response and you made me tear up. I know you’ll be just find-you have the content of character to do so. Now, go out there and make it happen young man… I’d give anything to turn the clock back thirty years (well, not really, that time was way too hard). “Remember life is easy, people complicate it.” All the best.
        AnnMarie

Leave a Reply

